Truffle Capital has raised more than € 1.1Bn since its inception and has financed 75 companies. The firm currently manages € 700M over a portfolio of 35 investments. At the end of 2019, the closing of its BioMedTech and FinTech-InsurTech Institutional Funds, with nearly €400M new commitments suscribed by leading French and international investors, marks a milestone for Truffle Capital with an accelerating development and a first round only with institutional investors for the funding of thematic funds.

Created in 2001, Truffle Capital differs from other management companies through a unique business model: the management company is systematically the main shareholder in its holdings, often in a majority position during the initial phase, and guides its companies to an advanced phase of their development.

joel_filipe_pfx_gsjmtdy_unsplash.jpg

Life Sciences

Truffle founded or co-founded : Carmat (artificial heart), Pharnext (treatment of neurological diseases), Vexim (implant for vertebral fractures), Symetis (minimally invasive surgery for heart valve replacement), Abivax (drugs for inflammatory diseases), Affluent Medical (minimally invasive implants for heart and vascular diseases and severe urinary incontinence)... These companies and 15 others would not have existed without Truffle.

Truffle negotiates directly with US and European universities exclusive and worldwide licenses for the most recent patents -unknown to competition- then creates, funds and structures in France new start-ups.

Truffle recruits CEOs and management teams, establishes top-level international boards of directors and structures the participation’s business plans. Truffle then supports over the next few years both financially and using its very sharp expertise and network the growth of the companies and the development of products up to clinical (drugs) or commercial (medical devices) successes. Strokes, the leading cause of disability and the second leading cause of death, acute or chronic heart failure, serious neurological diseases, pancreatic cancer, generally fatal in one year, arterial aneurysms ("these silent killers"), convergence between connected bioprosthesis, minimally invasive surgery, AI, imaging, microrobotics, constitute Truffle's primary expertise and focus of Truffle’s BioMedTech investment team, all major medical needs and markets. For many years, numerous institutional investors and international corporations, families, entrepreneurs and private clients have trusted Truffle. They share with Truffle the passion for radical innovations from the best universities and for medical revolutions that extend and improve patients’ lives, while benefiting from capital gains generated by Truffle proprietary investments.

Technologies

graph.jpg

FinTech

In terms of Information Technologies, Truffle has focused in Fintechs since 2014. Thanks to a unique team of experts (market and technology)from different nationalities, Truffle Capital can screen and select products with underlying complex technologies (deep tech), that will lead the market, create barriers to entry and respond to unmet needs allowing a fast market penetration and a high valuation at exit. A unique sourcing from some of the world's most prestigious universities as well asspecialisationin the FinTech space since 2014 enable Truffle Capital to generate proprietary deal-flow and avoid overlap with other venture funds. Companies such as Credit.fr, Paytop, DenyAll, Actility, Retency, and some twenty-five other companies would not have existed without Truffle: Truffle Capital scouts promising innovations and transforms them into world leaders.

The combination of deregulation and digitalization creates a radical paradigm shift in finance, unleashing the potential for startups to grab leadership in new markets and impose new models. This unique moment in time is an inflexion point, comparable – though bigger in scale – to what happened in the telecom industry 20 years ago with the combination of the internet and deregulation. Truffle Capital is a pioneer in Fintech, focusing exclusively on this sector as early as 2014 and creating the first dedicated Fintech incubator in 2015. With a proven track record of 8 companies incubated, of which 3 exited sucessfully, Truffle Capital has demonstrated the validity and astuteness of its model, and now attracts significant deal flow from across Europe.

The Truffle Capital Fintech team has methodically analysed the potential impact of deep technologies on the financial industry, segment by segment, and regularly produces research that it shares with its LPs. The underlying technologies are used to build dedicated financial applications across all major segments of the financial industry, ranging from payments, to lending, compliance, process automation, customer acquisition & CRM, parametric insurance, tokenization, fraud detection or cybersecurity.

Truffle Capital portfolio companies develop and leverage new digital technologies to bring ubiquity, instantaneity, efficiency and transparency whilst dramatically improving user experience and reducing costs.

Responsible Investment: our commitments

Truffle Capital believes that good management of environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors can help preserve business value, create attractiveness, better manage risks in their entirety and optimize portfolio performance over the long term.

Therefore, taking these ESG factors into account is an integral part of its fiduciary responsibility.
This very early observation, led Truffle Capital to sign the United Nations Principles for Responsible Investment (PRI) in January 2012 https://www.unpri.org. Thus, Truffle Capital was one of the first players in the French private equity market committed to respect the 6 main principles of this key initiative for the development of responsible finance.

ESG inherent integration to Truffe Capital’s historic investment strategy

Truffle Capital’s investment strategy is focused on sectors that are intrinsically connected to environmental and social issues, in order to achieve sustainable economic development. Focusing on life sciences and digital technologies, Truffle Capital is particularly well positioned to generate positive societal impacts through its investments. This goal of impacts’ control, which constitutes the first pillar of its responsible investment approach, is reinforced by an exclusion policy which aims, as a corollary, to reinforce the positive vocation of its investments.

An ESG integration that we progressively deepen at all stages of our investment process to align with best practices in this area

The key principles of PRI engagement embraced by Truffle Capital have been embodied in a Responsible Investment (RI) Policy and the inclusion of ESG factors in our analysis and investment process, as well as in its active shareholding approach.

To know more :

Responsible Investment (RI) Policy
RI TRANSPARENCY REPORT
Reporting Article 173-VI de la loi de transition énergétique pour la croissance verte (LTECV)

Warning regarding the publication of information of the fund classified Article 8 within the meaning of the European Regulation (EU) 2019/2088 called Sustainable Finance Disclosure Regulation (SFDR)

In 2022, Truffle Capital classified the Truffle Innov FRR France fund as "Article 8" under SFDR for its promotion of environmental and social characteristics.

This fund is a “Fonds Professionnel de Capital Investissement” (FPCI) created and managed by Truffle Capital, and is dedicated solely to financing innovative French companies in the life sciences and IT sectors.

This fund is not marketed to the public and is dedicated exclusively to an institutional investor. Communication about this fund is therefore limited and its management requires a discretionary dialogue with the investor, in order to protect non-public and confidential information related to its operation. As a result, information relating to this fund cannot be made public on the Truffle Capital website.

Nevertheless, in order to comply with the regulatory requirements linked to the SFDR Regulation, Truffle Capital has provided investors with all the information required in line with the fund's "Article 8" classification and the transparency and reporting standards required, in accordance with the Regulatory Technical Standards (RTS).

Truffle Capital a levé plus d’1,1 milliard d’euros depuis sa création et financé 70 entreprises. La société dispose aujourd’hui d’un portefeuille de 35 sociétés pour 500 millions d'euros sous gestion. Fin 2019, le closing de ses Fonds Institutionnels BioMedTech et FinTech-InsurTech à hauteur de près de 400 M€ d’engagements souscrits auprès d’investisseurs français et internationaux de premier plan, marque une étape clé pour Truffle Capital avec une accélération de son développement et une première levée réalisée uniquement auprès d’investisseurs institutionnels pour le financement de fonds thématiques.

Créé en 2001, Truffle Capital se distingue des autres sociétés de gestion grâce à un business model unique : la société de gestion est systématiquement actionnaire de référence dans ses participations, souvent en position majoritaire pendant la phase initiale, et accompagne ses entreprises jusqu’à un stade avancé de leur développement.

Au cœur de l’innovation

Paris Fintech Forum 2019

BioMedTech

Truffle a été notamment fondateur ou co-fondateur des entreprises suivantes : Carmat (cœur artificiel), Pharnext (traitement des maladies neurologiques), Vexim (implant pour fractures vertébrales), Symetis (chirurgie mini invasive pour remplacement de valve cardiaque), Abivax (médicaments pour maladies inflammatoires), Affluent Medical (implants mini invasifs pour maladies cardiaques et vasculaires et incontinence urinaire sévère)… Ces entreprises et bien d’autres n’auraient pas existé sans Truffle.

Truffle négocie directement avec les universités européennes et américaines des accords de licence exclusifs et mondiaux pour les brevets les plus récents – méconnus de la concurrence, afin de créer, financer et structurer principalement en France de nouvelles start-ups.

Truffle recrute les CEOs et les équipes de direction, met en place des conseils d’administration internationaux de très haut niveau et élabore les business plan de ses start-ups. Au cours des années qui suivent, Truffle, grâce à une très forte expertise et un vaste réseau, est à même de soutenir la croissance de ses entreprises et d’accompagner le développement des produits jusqu’aux succès cliniques (médicaments) ou succès commerciaux (dispositifs médicaux). Les AVC, cause principale de handicap et seconde cause de décès, l’insuffisance cardiaque aiguë ou chronique, les maladies neurologiques graves, le cancer du pancréas généralement mortel en un an, les anévrismes artériels («ces tueurs silencieux»), la convergence entre bioprothèse connectée, chirurgie mini-invasive, IA, imagerie, micro-robotique, constituent l'expertise principale de Truffle et la stratégie mise en place par l’équipe d’investissement BioMedTech, couvrant ainsi les principaux besoins médicaux et adressant des marchés majeurs. Depuis des années, de nombreux investisseurs institutionnels et corporates internationaux, des familles, des entrepreneurs et des clients privés font confiance à Truffle. Tous partagent avec la société la passion des innovations radicales issues des meilleures universités et des révolutions médicales qui prolongent et améliorent la vie des patients, tout en bénéficiant des gains en capital générés par les investissements propriétaires de Truffle.

Technologies

graph.jpg

FinTech / InsurTech

En matière de technologies de l’information, Truffle s’est, dès 2014, spécialisé dans les Fintechs. Grâce à son équipe unique d’experts dédiés et de nationalités différentes, Truffle Capital est à même de sélectionner des produits & services avec en sous-jacent des technologies complexes (deeptech), capables de répondre à des besoins critiques et disposant de réelles barrières à l’entrée. Cela permet notamment une pénétration rapide sur les marchés et  une valorisation potentiellement élevée à la sortie. Un sourcing exclusif parmi les plus prestigieuses universités mondiales allié à une spécialisation dans le domaine de la FinTech permettent à Truffle Capital de générer un deal-flow propriétaire et d’éviter d’être en concurrence directe sur les dossiers avec d’autres fonds de capital-risque. Des sociétés telles que Credit.fr, Paytop, DenyAll, Actility, Retency, et beaucoup d’autres entreprises n’auraient pas existé sans Truffle : Truffle Capital identifie les innovations prometteuses et les transforme en leaders mondiaux.

La combinaison de la déréglementation qui est en train de voir le jour et d’une très forte poussée de la digitalisation engendrera un changement radical de paradigme dans le secteur financier, offrant l’opportunité à de jeunes start-up d’émerger sur de nouveaux marchés et d’imposer leurs modèles. Ce momentum est un point fort d’inflexion, comparable – bien que plus vaste à l’échelle – à ce qui s’est passé dans l’industrie des télécommunications il y a 20 ans avec l’émergence d’internet d‘une part et la déréglementation de l’industrie télécom d’autre part. Truffle Capital est un pionnier dans la Fintech, en se focalisant sur ce secteur dès 2014 et en créant le premier incubateur dédié en 2015. Avec un track-record performant, 3 sorties réalisées avec succès sur les 8 sociétés incubées, Truffle Capital a démontré la validité et l’acuité de son modèle et attire désormais un flux significatif et qualifié de transactions en Europe.

L’équipe de Truffle Capital dédiée à la Fintech a méthodiquement analysé le potentiel impact des deep technologies sur le secteur financier, segment par segment, et produit à ce titre régulièrement des recherches qu’elle partage avec ses LPs. Les technologies sous-jacentes sont utilisées pour créer des applications financières dédiées dans les principaux segments du secteur financier, allant des paiements aux prêts, en passant par la conformité, l’automatisation des processus, l’acquisition et la gestion de la relation client, l’assurance paramétrique, la tokenisation, la détection des fraudes ou la cybersécurité.

Les sociétés du portefeuille de Truffle Capital développent et exploitent de nouvelles technologies digitales afin d’apporter l’ubiquité, l’instantanéité, l’efficacité et la transparence en améliorant considérablement l’expérience utilisateur tout en réduisant les coûts.

Investissement responsable : nos engagements

Truffle Capital est convaincue qu’une bonne gestion des facteurs environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance (ESG) peut contribuer à préserver la valeur de l’entreprise, à créer de l’attractivité, à mieux gérer les risques dans leur globalité et à optimiser le rendement d’un portefeuille sur le long terme.

Ce constat, dressé très tôt, a conduit Truffle Capital à signer les Principes pour l’Investissement Responsable des Nations Unies (PRI) dès janvier 2012 (https://www.unpri.org). Truffle Capital a ainsi été l’un des premiers acteurs du marché français du capital investissement à s’être s’engagé à respecter les 6 grands principes de cette initiative-clé pour le développement d’une finance responsable.

Une intégration de l’ESG inhérente à la stratégie d’investissement historique de Truffe Capital

La stratégie d’investissement de Truffle Capital est orientée sur des secteurs intrinsèquement connectés aux enjeux environnementaux et sociaux, permettant de viser un développement économique durable et soutenable. En ciblant principalement les domaines des sciences de la vie et des technologies digitales, Truffle Capital est particulièrement bien positionnée pour générer des impacts sociétaux positifs à travers ses investissements. Cet objectif de maîtrise d’impacts, qui constitue le premier pilier de sa démarche d’investissement responsable, est renforcé par une politique d’exclusion qui vise, en corollaire, à renforcer la vocation positive de ses investissements.

Une intégration ESG que nous approfondissons progressivement à toutes les étapes de notre processus d’investissement pour nous aligner avec les meilleures pratiques en la matière

Les grands principes d’engagement des PRI embrassés par Truffle Capital se sont matérialisés au sein d’une Politique d’Investissement Responsable (IR) et par la prise en compte de facteurs ESG dans notre processus d’analyse et d’investissement, ainsi que dans son approche d’actionnariat actif.

Pour en savoir plus :

Politique d’Investissement Responsable
RI TRANSPARENCY REPORT
Reporting Article 173-VI de la loi de transition énergétique pour la croissance verte (LTECV)